Data Platform (Bring Your Own BI/Data Share) - OAuth Client Credentials Service Users

paul.davidson@oneadvanced.com Updated by paul.davidson@oneadvanced.com

In order to use OAuth client credentials flow authorisation to access your data, you must first create a service user which will provide you with an OAuth client ID, secret and other details required by either Snowflake ODBC client or the Snowflake RESTful API.

You can conveniently set up and manage your own OAuth Client Credentials Service Users directly in apps.oneadvanced.com. You will need to be a Customer admin to use this functionality.

You can find Data Platform Admin in the Applications section of your menu.

On the Service Users page, you will see a list of all your existing clients. From this list, you can manage your Service Users through several actions such as edit, delete and rotate the secret. You can also add new OAuth Client Credentials Service Users from here.

Creating a new service user

  1. Open the Service Users page and click on Add service user button at the top right.
  2. Provide a username then click the Dataset Grants dropdown to select the product dataset(s) you require this user to have access to - at least 1 dataset must be selected.
You will only be able to see and select datasets that have been licensed for your organisation.
  1. Click Add service user to create the client.
  2. After the user is created, the credentials you require will be displayed - make sure to manage the secrets appropriately.

Managing secrets

You won't be able to see the secret for a service user again after creating them so make sure you save them in a secure location.

For security reasons, secrets are hidden by default. You can view the secret by clicking on the eye icon. You can copy secrets to your clipboard using the Copy button to make it easy to input.

In cases of loss, theft, or to ensure good security practices, the secret can be rotated. This involves generating a new random string as a secret.

To rotate a secret, go to the Service Users screen, click on the actions icon and select Rotate secret.

You will need to input the service user's name to confirm the operation, which can't be undone. Once the rotation is successful, the old secret will immediately no longer be usable.

Making changes to an existing service user

You can only make changes to the selected dataset grants for an existing service user. From the service users screen, click on the actions icon and select Edit.

Deleting a service user

You can delete a client from the service users screen by clicking more options and selecting Delete. Service user removal is immediate and cannot be undone.

How did we do?

Data Platform (Bring Your Own BI/Data Share) – How to Connect Microsoft Power BI to OneAdvanced Data Platform

Data Platform (Bring Your Own BI/Data Share) - Snowflake ODBC Connector Configuration Guide

Contact